Warriors triumph Battle of the Books

Warriors triumph Battle of the Books


NET Winnie Pradhan with her winning team.
NET Winnie Pradhan with her winning team.

Bookworms from HKBUAS Wong Kam Fai Secondary and Primary School won the Hong Kong Local Primary Modified Battle of the Books Competition held on June 19. This is the first time primary schools have been able to compete in the world-famous reading contest.

The winning team of Agatha Wong, Ryan Cheung, Ray Liu, Tania Wu, Clement Kwok, James Ma, Ethan Ip, Vallis Luong and Lewis Gilbert went head-to-head in 12 exciting rounds against three other schools: Sacred Heart of Mary Catholic Primary School, Tai Po; Yaumati Catholic Primary School (Hoi Wang Road); and Tai Po Methodist School.

Lewis, from the winning team, said: "The competition was challenging since the other schools were good. I really enjoyed reading the books and I'll be going back to the library to read other books by these authors."

Each question started "In which book …", and to answer a question correctly, a student had to respond with the title and the author after a discussion with teammates.

The contest is sponsored by Commercial Press.

If your school wants to be part of next year's battle, nag your English teacher to register a team. Entries will only be accepted at the start of next term.

This article appeared in the Young Post print edition as
Book warriors triumph


To post comments please
register or