No amount of practice can compare to the real thing, as these HK students found out at the International Competition for Young Debaters.
St Mark's debater Ron Yip presents his arguments in favour of a tax on high-calorie foods and drinks
St Mark's School tasted victory over St Catherine School for Girls in the second round (Division Three) of the 15th Nesta-SCMP Debating Competition last Friday.
Connie Cheung Yik-sau of St Stephen's disagrees with the land reclamation motion
The Nesta-SCMP debating competition entered its 15th year on Tuesday, with St Stephen's Church College defeating Pui Tak Canossian College in a first-round ...
Angel Cheung (left) of German Swiss International School rebuts
German Swiss International School won the gold division of the Seventh Senior Debating Championship Grand Finals. They opposed the motion "Whistle-blowers ...
Debate organiser Michael Evershed, best speaker Caitlin Fischer (centre), of German Swiss International School, and Mehvesh Mumtaz Ahmed, the chairperson of the judging panel
German Swiss International School, Island School and Raimondi College won their respective divisions in the Seventh Senior Debating Championship Grand Finals ...
The teams (from left): Benjamin Allen, Natalie So, James Lo, Rachel Evans, Nick Edwards and Kevin Egan
Top student debaters from the Hong Kong Schools Debating Council (HKSDC) challenged - and defeated - Foreign Correspondents' Club (FCC) members last week.
Stewards' Sarah Tse, Isaac Sham and Natalie Cheung celebrate collecting the trophy.
Students from Stewards Pooi Kei College proved they can come up with a good argument when they defeated CCC Kei Yuen College in the 14th NESTA-SCMP ...
From left: Division 1A contestants Maxine Law, Sakura Lee, and Zachary Tong from CCC Kei Yuen College; Sarah Tse, Isaac Sham, and Natalie Cheung from Stewards Pooi Kei College.
The 14th Nesta-SCMP Debating Competition Grand Final has finally arrived. Today the champions of the 1A and 2A divisions will be decided at Hong Kong's City U.
Coby Siu of Po Kok Secondary School
Concordia Lutheran Secondary School and Po Kok Secondary School both shone bright in the 14th Nesta-SCMP Debating Competition.
Sakura Lee of CCC Kei Yuen College
CCC Kei Yuen College are through to the grand final of the Division One A, 14th Nesta-SCMP debating competition, after defeating Carmel Secondary School.
The champion team from St Rose of Lima's College (from left) Natalie Chen, Natarie Tsui, and Judy Lam.
St Rose of Lima's College outlasted Tuen Mun Government Secondary School to become the Division Three champion of the 14th Nesta-SCMP debating ...