One Direction alumnus Zayn Malik's ambitious album 'Icarus Falls' fails to deliver [Music Review]

One Direction alumnus Zayn Malik's ambitious album 'Icarus Falls' fails to deliver [Music Review]

Former 1D heart-throb's second solo release Icarus Falls has its decent moments, but loses focus

Former 1D heartthrob Zayn Malik has been busy since 2016’s Mind Of Mine: his second solo release, Icarus Falls, has a mammoth 27 songs squeezed into 88 minutes. 

After the opener Let Me hints at more optimistic ground than the last album, the album steers back to more familiar ground. Tracks like Natural, Imprint, Tonight and Flight of the Stars all channel the dark, R’n’B stylings of his debut.

Rita Ora’s long-awaited new album 'Phoenix', featuring Cardi B and Avicii, shows off her artistic ability as a singer and songwriter [Album Review]

Stand Still shows the artist coming into his own, with more inventive instrumentals, and his overwrought vocals adding to the track’s immersive nature.

There are dancey moments, too, though, with the reggaeton-punctuated Talk To Me, and album highlight Back To Life, which blends a punchy strut beat with funk.

Charlie Puth on working with Wiz Khalifa for the soundtrack for a 'Fast and the Furious' movie, and his second album, 'Voicenotes'

Otherwise, this album is pretty one-dimensional, with the same repetitive icy-slow groove we’ve heard before. There You Are could be a 1D anthem, and Timbaland has his fingerprints all over If I Got You; but otherwise, it’s all minimal, brooding electro-soul. 

There are certainly decent moments, but Icarus Falls is quantity over quality. If he’d focused on polishing a shorter track list, Malik would be onto a winner. 

YP Rating
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Your Rating
This article appeared in the Young Post print edition as
Zayne remains one-directional


To post comments please
register or

1 comment